South West Illinois News

South West Illinois News

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

State Rep. Bryant doesn’t vote, allowing anti-Trump Illinois House resolution to pass

Local Government

By South West Illinois News Reports | May 23, 2018

Rep. Terri Bryant

Rep. Terri Bryant (R-Murphysboro) is one of 13 Republican members of the Illinois House who abstained from voting on a resolution urging members of Congress to reject President Donald Trump’s proposed infrastructure plan.

Sponsored by state Rep. Marcus Evans (D-Chicago), the measure recently passed in the House by a 55-44 vote, with Bryant being joined in not casting a ballot by fellow GOP members John Cavaletto (R-Salem), Norine Hammond (R-Macomb), Sheri Jesiel (R-Winthrop Harbor), David Reis (R-Willow Hill), Dave Severin (R-Benton), Lindsay Parkhurst (R-Kankakee), David S. Olsen (R-Downers Grove), Bill Mitchell (R-Forsyth), Tony McCombie (R-Savana), Jerry Lee Long (R-Streator), Michael D. Unes (R-East Peoria) and Christine Winger (R-Wood Dale).

A “yes” vote from Bryant and more of her abstaining GOP colleagues could have made the difference in a process where democratic Reps. Monica Bristow (D-Godfrey), Jerry Costello Jr (D-Smithton), Sue Scherer (D-Decatur), Katie Stuart (D-Edwardsville) and Mike Halpin (D-Rock Island), all of whom represent downstate districts where Trump remains immensely popular, voted against the measure.  

Donald Trump

Several media outlets have reported Trump’s sweeping infrastructure plan calls for $200 billion in federal spending, with the added goal of attracting an additional $1.5 trillion investment from private and local investors.

Want to get notified whenever we write about any of these organizations ?

Sign-up Next time we write about any of these organizations, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois Representative Terri Bryant (R-115th)Donald J. Trump for President, Inc.

More News